Stella Review: Cost, Care Model and Who It's For

Stella scores 7.9/10 on our rubric. Best for: guideline-based HRT through your own pharmacy. The catch: No testosterone yet; medication is paid at your pharmacy. Price checked Oct 7, 2026 on Stella's site.

By CalcMyPeptide Editorial · Published · Prices checked · How we rank

Verdict

7.9/10 CalcMyPeptide rubric score, not patient ratings
Cost transparency and value (25%)
7.5
Clinical process and monitoring (25%)
10.0
Disclosure (15%)
6.7
Access (15%)
10.0
Patient sentiment (10%)
5.0
Support and cancellation (10%)
5.0

Clinical gate: pass. Licensed prescriber stated, and an evaluation before prescribing is described.

  • Best for: Guideline-based HRT through your own pharmacy.
  • Not for: anyone put off by this catch: No testosterone yet; medication is paid at your pharmacy.
  • Patient sentiment: Trustpilot 2.7/5 from only 4 reviews (as of 2026-10-07), pulled toward neutral because the sample is small.
Check Stella's plans and pricing on its site →

How much does Stella cost?

Every price Stella publishes, as listed on its own pages:

ItemPriceUnitChecked
Initial visit, self-pay$200per visitPrices checked Oct 7, 2026 · source
Follow-up visit, self-pay$90per visitPrices checked Oct 7, 2026 · source
Average copay with insurance$45per visit (average)Prices checked Oct 7, 2026 · source
MedicationSent to your pharmacy; often covered by insurancepharmacy cost-Prices checked Oct 7, 2026 · source

Billed per visit (most people every 3 months). Medication is paid at the pharmacy.

First charge, first 90 days and 12-month cost for each Stella plan we could price:

Providers
ProviderPlanMonthlyFirst chargeFirst 90 days12-monthMinimum termNot included / assumptionsChecked
StellaSelf-pay visitsCare fee only; medication paid separatelynot published$200$200$470not publishedMedication (paid at your pharmacy) Stella says most people have a visit every 3 months; we use that.Prices checked Oct 7, 2026 · source

First charge = one-time fees plus the first billing block. First 90 days = cash paid on the provider's billing calendar. 12-month = one-time fees + 12 months of the plan price + scheduled extras (like follow-up labs). "not published" means the provider's own pages don't say; we never fill the gap with a guess. Full math: methodology.

Quick facts

What they offerFDA-approved HRT: estrogen (gel, patch, spray, vaginal), progesterone; Non-hormonal options; Health coaching app
PrescribersBoard-certified menopause clinicians (Vira Health). Ages 35–70.
LabsUsually not needed (NAMS guidance).
Insurance / HSAIn-network with hundreds of plans. Superbills for out-of-network. HSA/FSA eligible.
CommitmentNone (per visit).
Cancellation and refundsNot stated on the pages read.
StatesHomepage says 'board-certified clinicians in 50 states'; the insurance checker notes some states lack virtual visits.
Pharmacy and deliveryLocal pharmacy.
Trustpilot2.7/5 from 4 reviews (as of 2026-10-07). Resolves to www.onstella.com; may include UK reviews.

Is Stella legit? What we checked

We read Stella's own pricing, FAQ, terms and policy pages on Oct 7, 2026 and its Trustpilot profile. We did not sign up, take an intake, buy medication or test the service, and we have not yet run public-record checks (FDA warning letters to its pharmacy, OIG exclusions, prescriber license lookups) for this version of the review. Where the provider's own pages disagree with each other, we say so instead of picking one.

Pros, cons and the catch

Pros

  • Takes insurance
  • FDA-approved medications only
  • Coaching app included

Cons

  • No testosterone yet (waitlist)
  • Trustpilot 2.7 (4 reviews)

The catch: No testosterone yet; medication is paid at your pharmacy.

How the score was worked out

Each line is a yes/no fact from Stella's own pages; anything not published counts as no. Weights and the full rubric are on the methodology page.

  • yesCore recurring or visit price is published on the provider’s own site (Cost transparency and value)
  • noAn all-in monthly figure can be worked out from published prices (Cost transparency and value)
  • yesLab costs are published, included, or labs are not required (Cost transparency and value)
  • yesThe lowest advertised price does not need a commitment longer than 3 months (Cost transparency and value)
  • yesAn evaluation before prescribing is described (labs for testosterone/enclomiphene; clinician intake for HRT) (Clinical process and monitoring)
  • yesA follow-up or lab-monitoring schedule is published (Clinical process and monitoring)
  • yesThe dispensing pharmacy or pharmacy type is disclosed (Disclosure)
  • yesThe prescriber’s credential type is stated (MD, DO, NP, board certification) (Disclosure)
  • noCancellation or refund terms are published (Disclosure)
  • yesInsurance or HSA/FSA can be used (Access)
  • yesMore than one medication form is offered (Access)
  • yesBroad availability is published (all 50 states, an exclusions-only list, or 40+ states) (Access)
  • yesA month-to-month or cancel-anytime option exists (Support and cancellation)
  • noA refund path is published (for example, a refund if not approved) (Support and cancellation)
  • 5.0Patient sentiment: Trustpilot 2.7/5 from only 4 reviews (as of 2026-10-07), pulled toward neutral because the sample is small. (Patient sentiment)

Alternatives to consider

FAQ

How much does Stella cost?

Billed per visit (most people every 3 months). Medication is paid at the pharmacy. Prices checked Oct 7, 2026 on Stella's own pages; see the itemized table on this page.

Does Stella take insurance?

In-network with hundreds of plans. Superbills for out-of-network. HSA/FSA eligible.

Can I cancel Stella?

None (per visit). Not stated on the pages read.

Does Stella require labs?

Usually not needed (NAMS guidance).

Where is Stella available?

Homepage says 'board-certified clinicians in 50 states'; the insurance checker notes some states lack virtual visits.

Changelog

  • Oct 7, 2026: review published; all prices and terms checked on Stella's own pages.

Sources