Online menopause HRT compared: Winona vs Gala on real monthly cost
Find your match · 2 questions
Which provider fits you best?
We rank on published prices and terms only. A licensed clinician decides whether any treatment is right for you.
Women's HRT
Our pick: Gala (79/100)
3 options · prices verified Oct 8, 2026
Women's HRT and menopause care
3 of 3 shownWinona
Estrogen tablets only
$54/mo effective (from)$54 to start (estrogen tablets, from, per month)
Cheapest over a year: estrogen tablets, from, per month, $54 monthly
- Lowest upfront
- Labs not included
- Medication included
- Visits included
- Shipping included
Price math, trust and fine print
- Effective monthly
- 12 × $54 = $648 a year ÷ 12
- Includes
- Physician visit and unlimited messaging, FDA-approved estradiol tablets (per Winona), free shipping
- Trust
- 30+ board-certified physicians (listed on its physicians page). Owns two 503A compounding pharmacies. “Verify LegitScript Approval” seal in the bywinona.com footer.
- Reviews
- 4.6★ · 8,478 on Trustpilot (as of Oct 7, 2026)
- Form
- FDA-approved forms (per provider)
- ⚠ Estrogen alone; people with a uterus are usually also prescribed progesterone.
- ⓘ Estrogen alone suits only people without a uterus, so it is priced against the field but does not set the price benchmark or compete for a medal.
Last verified Oct 8, 2026 on the provider’s own page
- Gold · Our pick
Gala
HRT program (estradiol, progesterone, vaginal estradiol, non-hormonal)
$69/mo effective (from)$69 to start (flat monthly price, from)
Cheapest over a year: flat monthly price, from, $69 monthly
Why it wins: Lowest effective cost for hrt program (estradiol, progesterone, vaginal estradiol, non-hormonal) ($69/mo); 4.6★ from 3,961 Trustpilot reviews.
- Best value
- Labs not included
- Medication included
- Visits included
- Shipping included
Price math, trust and fine print
- Effective monthly
- 12 × $69 = $828 a year ÷ 12
- Includes
- Medication, provider review and telehealth visit, dose adjustments, free 1–2 day shipping; no membership fee
- Trust
- OpenLoop Healthcare Partners, Reliant.MD Medical Associates and MECNB Physician Services groups (named in its terms). Prescriptions ship free; Gala says it prescribes FDA-approved bioidentical forms. LegitScript seal in site footer.
- Reviews
- 4.6★ · 3,961 on Trustpilot (as of Oct 7, 2026)
- Form
- FDA-approved forms (per provider)
- ⚠ “From” price: Gala’s offer page says $69 a month flat; its hormone hub no longer prints the number. Gala does not publish what a combined estradiol + progesterone plan costs.
Last verified Oct 8, 2026 on the provider’s own page
- Silver
Winona
Estrogen tablets + progesterone capsules
$93/mo effective (from)$93 to start (estrogen tablets ($54) + progesterone capsules ($39), from, per month)
Cheapest over a year: estrogen tablets ($54) + progesterone capsules ($39), from, per month, $93 monthly
Why it wins: 503A pharmacy stated and a LegitScript seal; 4.6★ from 8,478 Trustpilot reviews.
- Labs not included
- Medication included
- Visits included
- Shipping included
Price math, trust and fine print
- Effective monthly
- 12 × $93 = $1,116 a year ÷ 12
- Includes
- Physician visit and unlimited messaging, FDA-approved estradiol and progesterone (per Winona), free shipping
- Trust
- 30+ board-certified physicians (listed on its physicians page). Owns two 503A compounding pharmacies. “Verify LegitScript Approval” seal in the bywinona.com footer.
- Reviews
- 4.6★ · 8,478 on Trustpilot (as of Oct 7, 2026)
- Form
- FDA-approved forms (per provider)
- ⚠ “From” prices ($54 tablets + $39 capsules); dose can change it.
Last verified Oct 8, 2026 on the provider’s own page
| Medication / plan | Included | Trust | First-order offer | Action | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Winona
| Estrogen tablets only Estrogen tablets, from, per month · monthly FDA-approved forms (per provider) | $54 from 12 × $54 = $648 a year ÷ 12 | $54 Estrogen tablets, from, per month |
| LegitScript seal · 503A pharmacy · Named prescribers | 4.6★ · 8,478 | None published | Prices on Winona’s siteVerified Oct 8, 2026 · source | |
Gold · Our pick GalaLowest effective cost for hrt program (estradiol, progesterone, vaginal estradiol, non-hormonal) ($69/mo); 4.6★ from 3,961 Trustpilot reviews.
| HRT program (estradiol, progesterone, vaginal estradiol, non-hormonal) Flat monthly price, from · monthly FDA-approved forms (per provider) | $69 from 12 × $69 = $828 a year ÷ 12 | $69 Flat monthly price, from |
| LegitScript seal · Named prescribers | 4.6★ · 3,961 | None published | Prices on Gala’s siteVerified Oct 8, 2026 · source | |
Silver Winona503A pharmacy stated and a LegitScript seal; 4.6★ from 8,478 Trustpilot reviews. | Estrogen tablets + progesterone capsules Estrogen tablets ($54) + progesterone capsules ($39), from, per month · monthly FDA-approved forms (per provider) | $93 from 12 × $93 = $1,116 a year ÷ 12 | $93 Estrogen tablets ($54) + progesterone capsules ($39), from, per month |
| LegitScript seal · 503A pharmacy · Named prescribers | 4.6★ · 8,478 | None published | Prices on Winona’s siteVerified Oct 8, 2026 · source |
How we score
Re-weight the rubric
Every provider gets the same five pillar scores. Move the sliders to weigh what matters to you; “Your pick” updates, our medals do not.
Legend: medals, badges and icons
- Gold: highest score on our default weights in that service. One medal per provider per service, and only where at least two providers compete. Gold is “Our pick”.
- Silver: second-highest score on our default weights in that service. One medal per provider per service, and only where at least two providers compete. Gold is “Our pick”.
- Bronze: third-highest score on our default weights in that service. One medal per provider per service, and only where at least two providers compete. Gold is “Our pick”.
- Your pick: the top score after you re-weight the rubric. It can differ from ours, and that is the point.
- Best value: Lowest effective monthly cost for the same medication or service.
- Lowest upfront: Smallest first charge to start, in this service.
- Labs included: Lab work is part of the published price.
- Brand-name option: The provider also offers a brand-name route (priced separately).
- Best for women: Highest-scoring provider built for women in this service.
- Icons: flask = labs, pill = medication, stethoscope = clinician visits, truck = shipping; struck-through means not in the price.
- Score ring: 0–100 weighted score. Green 80+, orange 65–79, amber below 65.
How we score
Five pillars, each scored 0–100 from facts on the provider’s own pages, then weighted: Price and value 30%, What's included 20%, Trust and compliance 20%, Customer reviews 15%, Offer strength and flexibility 15%.
- Price and value (30%): Effective monthly cost over 12 months on the cheapest published cash plan, including intro prices, renewal credits and 28-day billing. The cheapest option for the same medication scores 100; others score cheapest ÷ theirs × 100.
- What's included (20%): Labs 30, medication in the price 30, clinician visits and follow-ups 20, shipping 20, as the provider’s own page states.
- Trust and compliance (20%): LegitScript seal on the site 40; a named prescriber group or named physicians 30 (licensed but unnamed 15); a 503A/503B pharmacy stated on its pages 30 (US-licensed, type not stated 15; not stated 5).
- Customer reviews (15%): Trustpilot star rating, shrunk toward 3.5 stars until a provider has enough reviews (rating × count + 3.5 × 50, ÷ count + 50), mapped 1–5 stars to 0–100. No verifiable rating scores 40, not zero and not average.
- Offer strength and flexibility (15%): A published first-order discount or intro price 40, a cancel-anytime or month-to-month plan 30, HSA/FSA 15, full refund if a clinician declines you 15.
Effective monthly cost is the cash you would pay for 12 months on the cheapest published plan, divided by 12: the first charge (including any published intro price or first-order discount), then the regular or renewal price for the rest of the year, with 28-day plans counted as 13 charges. Prepaid plans count their full upfront price. “To start” is the smallest first charge on any plan.
Who is listed: providers whose affiliate program has approved us and that pass our vetting (licensed prescribers, a named or licensed pharmacy, honest compounded-drug labelling, no research-use-only products). Providers that have not approved us are not shown, so this is not every option on the market. Dataset version 2026-10-08.1, prices verified Oct 8, 2026. Full methodology · Disclosure
Where offerings overlap
- Gala, Winona publish “starting at” prices; the final price is set at checkout or after intake, so treat those rows as a floor.
FAQ
Is compounded bioidentical HRT FDA-approved?
No. Compounded bioidentical hormones are not FDA-approved. Some providers prescribe FDA-approved estradiol and progesterone instead; each row says which the provider uses.
Why does Winona have two rows?
Winona prices estrogen and progesterone separately. People with a uterus are usually also prescribed progesterone, so we show the combined price next to estrogen alone. Medals compare the combined price, because estrogen alone suits only people without a uterus.
Do I need labs for online HRT?
Both providers here say labs are usually not required and prescribe based on symptoms and history; a clinician may order labs when they would change the plan.
Is this medical advice?
No. A licensed clinician decides whether hormone therapy is appropriate for you.
Sources
Every price and inclusion was read on the provider’s own page on Oct 8, 2026. Ratings are Trustpilot, same date.
- galaglp1.com/lp/treatable
- bywinona.com/product/progesterone-capsule
- bywinona.com/product/estrogen-tablet
- trustpilot.com/review/galahealth.co
- trustpilot.com/review/bywinona.com
- FDA: Concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss (content current as of Oct 1, 2026)
- FTC: Endorsement Guides, what people are asking